Allow myself to introduce myself... ;-)

A little bit of background on yours truly. I spent the majority of my adult life as a single woman, with a little bit of a career (read: a job that pays the bills), and a few "near misses" when it came to getting married and having a family. Either the wrong guy, or the wrong time... Or both. Either way, babies weren't really on my radar....... Not even a little bit.

Fast forward to May of 2010, and I'm now a happy newlywed... Still with no babies on the radar. Hubby and I were a little older when we married, and were set in our ways. We really didn't know what we wanted yet, so we kind of just agreed to table the issue until one of us had an epiphany.

Fast forward again to last fall (2011), to a certain phone call I received from the hubby while he was at the deer lease. Long story short, he's been hanging out with the guys at deer camp and they apparently were busy telling him how fabulous having kids was. So he finally tells me he thinks we should maybe start a family. I wish two things about this conversation. 1) I wish I had this call recorded, and 2) I wish I had put money on hubby wanting a baby first. I just knew he'd decide he wanted a family and I'd have to decide if I wanted to go along with it or not. I just knew he would be ready first and I was right. :-)

So this is November. We talk about it for a few weeks and then decide ok let's have a baby! He says let's wait about 6 more months to start trying. Well, I'm good with that for a little while until I realize that if we do that, I'll be 32 before I have the baby. So I freak out. It's time to start now... In case we have trouble getting pregnant, or staying pregnant... You just never know. So we compromised and decided to wait about 4-6 more weeks before trying.

(*SideNote* Looking back, I always thought it was funny that he wanted to have a baby first, but really wasn't in a hurry to get started. He wanted to put it off for awhile. And then there's me who had been hard to convince and terrified, etc., but once I agreed, there was no time to lose. I think it kind of backfired on him a little...)

So we now know we want to have a baby. The next thing is to decide how and where to actually HAVE the baby. I have always maintained that on the off chance hell froze over and I WAS going to have a baby, I would want a homebirth. My sister had 3 homebirths and they were wonderful and I was convinced that was a great way to have a baby. (I also really hate hospitals and didn't want to be there unless there was an emergency.)

So it's still November (it was a busy month) and I have started researching area midwifery practices (read: I'm constantly obsessing over this and Googling homebirth info like crazy)... Lo and behold, there was a local birth center with 3 (at the time) very experienced midwives. My poor husband... He doesn't come from a suburban-hippie upbringing so it was quite an adjustment for him to even consider anything other than a hospital birth. However, to his credit, he never fought me on it, but simply said, "I just need to do my research"... Naturally, I use this against him and present him with a perfect opportunity to begin said "research". So guess who got dragged out to a "Meet the Midwives" appointment? That's right my friends... Hubby got his first taste of the other side and we weren't even trying yet... But I was now very focused. Lol. Don't judge! This was his idea!!! Little did he know it was just the tip of the iceberg.

Well, we didn't have to wait long after that. On February 11, 2012, we discovered we were pregnant. Not only is Feb 11 my dad's birthday, but the parents were in town staying with us when we found out! But we weren't telling anyone yet! So it made for an awkward weekend because we were excited and stunned at the same time and were having a hard time keeping a secret. All in all, we are so blessed that we had no problems conceiving whatsoever..

So after a few more weeks of unbearable silence, we tell our families that we are expecting a baby at the end of October. Everyone was excited, especially my parents because I had spent the better part of the last 10 years conditioning them to believe that any and all grand kids would be supplied by my older siblings. So far, they already had 5 grand babies and they served as a wonderful decoy for me and I happily flew under the radar for years. I had a good run, that's for sure!

Now that we were preggers, we had to actually decide on a caregiver to monitor the pregnancy. We talked and talked and prayed and prayed and researched and researched. Before too long, he was fully on board with using a midwife and a birth center. We both felt peace about a certain midwife, and so we hired her! Not long after that, he came around to the idea of homebirth and we never looked back.

So that's a little background about me.

What started it all? When hubby said:

"Baby... Let's take our love.... And make a baby with it." And so we did.







Lisa
2/2/2013 01:30:19 am

I enjoy reading about life pre-baby.
I'm so glad our pregnancies and like-minded birthing desires allowed for our paths to cross and lives to be connected! Yay for natural births, beautiful babies, wonderful husbands and great new friends!

Reply
Rebecca Greer
2/2/2013 10:48:29 am

Amen sister!!

Reply
Nana/momma
2/18/2013 09:53:39 am

Wow! What a beautiful story. So blessed that you have a wonderful man, marriage and now baby. Thanks for sharing the site with me.

Reply



Leave a Reply.